The SG50 Trail

The SG50 Trail

Princess Pink totally had no idea what I was surprising her with during the June holidays.

She had been asking to do the SG50 Trail since the school gave us information on it in 2015. She was in Primary One then and she was really bugging me about it almost every other day.(God save my ears, please!) But I refused to do as she asked.


So, when the school gave out the information early in the year again, I was prepared to stuff my ears with tissue papers and cotton wool. She certainly did not disappoint! She started bugging me again.

In the end, I told her that I would not bring her on the trail if she kept asking me for it.

She finally stopped her nagging. I was sooo happy about it! But it also meant I also had to keep to my part of the bargain.

I sneakily made arrangements with their Godfather, E, and his wife, T, as well as Candy’s Godmother, C and her husband, BC. We rarely had them with us for our family activities, so they were really happy to join us for the walk. We decided to do it on a Sunday evening, just before dinner. And since most of the adults were leading a very unhealthy lifestyle, we decided not to overexert our slackened bodies and chose the shortest route.

As always, I managed to keep the outing a secret until just before we left the house. The girls were ecstatic. Princess Pink brought her map along and asked how long the walk was going to be. I told her that we were going to do the shortest walk, and she was going to be the group leader and guide us with the map.

Our initial meeting point was at Gardens By the Bay; however, the car park was full and we decided to go to Marina Square instead. When we got to the meeting point, the girls were delighted to see their Godfather and Candy’s Godmother. The Godparents were happily teasing the girls. And after a short catch-up, we decided to start the walk.


We crossed over to the Esplanade and wondered how we could get to the Singapore River. The Esplanade could be rather confusing for those who did not frequent the area. And I was referring to the whole group of us. We were lost at the Esplanade. I decided that we would just venture through the building (which was a good hunch) and we found ourselves near the outdoor amphitheater.

We walked over and started taking photos in the setting sun. The place was crowded with families and tourists. The Esplanade was one of the iconic building surrounding the Marina Bayfront. The locals affectionately called it “The Durian” because the plates that provided shade for the building resembled the spikes on the exterior of the durian fruit, which many locals loved!

We then slowly made our way to the Jubilee Bridge. I have never heard of the Jubilee Bridge prior to this trip. While I was scanning the map, I turned over to CFO and asked, “What is the Jubilee Bridge? Have you seen it before?”

CFO echoed, “What is Jubilee Bridge?”

I turned and decided to walk in the direction of the Jubilee Bridge with the ladies and left him to chat with the men. The guys were happily chatting about cars and houses, etc. We, ladies, were busy trying to get the girls to pose at the Merlion. 😂😂😂


Our walk took us to The Fullerton Hotel, Asian Civilisation Museum, Victoria Concert Hall, The Art House (aka Old Parliament House), the spanking new National Gallery Singapore (aka Old Supreme Court and City Hall), the Padang and back to Marina Square.



Can you imagine how long it took us to do the 6km walk? We took 2 hours to complete the walk, with lots of photo-taking and even enjoyed ice cream!

The girls were really thrilled to enjoy the evening out. I was really glad that we spent a great time together with close friends and our family!


I have been thinking of bring the girls for some kite flying at the Marina Barrage. Anyone wish to join us? Oh, please remember not to tell my girls about it, unless you are going to sponsor me loads of ear plugs to block out their nagging.

Leave a comment